top of page


Eden Sugay.jpg
EDEN JULIA SUGAY —  President, Governance Committee, Communications Committee, Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Eden Sugay (they/them) is Senior Publishing Sales Manager at VIZ Media. Eden has previously worked for Ingram Content Group (formerly Perseus Books Group) and Chronicle Books in sales, marketing, events, and client management. Eden is Poetry Editor for Apricity Press, a multi-genre arts press that publishes one issue per year. They earned their B.A. in Creative Writing from Mills College in Oakland, CA and are pursuing their M.F.A. in Writing at University of San Francisco, where they are Editor-in-Chief of the M.F.A. program's online publication Invisible City. In addition to their role as President, Eden is an active member of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, Communications Committee, and has been a BAWiP Mentor.

KATE WARNE — Vice President, Social and Educational Events Committee Co-Chair

Kate Warne is Director of Editing, Design, and Production at the University of California Press. She’s also an advisory board member for the Bay Area–based Publishing Professionals Network. An editor by training, she now particularly enjoys being a manager and is interested in the ways professional relationships drive success in organizations. Outside work, Kate hikes, reads, writes, and sometimes rides her bike.

ALEX HENDERSON — Secretary, Social and Educational Events Committee


Alex Henderson joined Labyrinth Learning four years ago as an Editorial Assistant and is now an Editor, overseeing the creation, release and upgrading of the company’s online courses and multimedia products, and also its internal processes. Alex graduated from San Francisco State University with a B.A. in Creative Writing, and interned at the California Film Institute and Avalon Travel. She is a member of BAWiP's Education Committee.

Michelle Phan_edited.jpg
MICHELLE PHAN — Robin Seaman Award Committee, Diversity and Inclusion Committee, BIPOC and Queer Affinity Groups


Michelle Phan is a publicist at North Atlantic Books. After graduating from UC Santa Barbara with a B.A. in English and a minor in Asian American studies, she moved from SoCal to the Bay Area, where she spends a lot of time camping, hiking, and shopping at Berkeley Bowl. In addition to her role on the board, she is a member of the Robin Seaman Award Committee, the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee, and the Communications Committee.

GUILLIAN HETZLER — Robin Seaman Award Co-Chair


Guillian Hetzler is a founding board member of Bay Area Women in Publishing and is co-chair of the Robin Seaman Award Committee. Most recently she was Director of Content and Library Partnerships at Benetech, a nonprofit that runs Bookshare, a global digital library for people with print disabilities. She is a passionate advocate for accessible books and has served on related committees with organizations including the Book Industry Study Group, International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions, W3C, and the DAISY Consortium. Previously, Guillian worked in client services at INscribe Digital and editorial at Simon & Schuster and Entangled Publishing. She is a graduate of Harvard College and the Columbia Publishing Course and is always on the lookout for her next great read.

CHLOE WONG — Communications Chair 

Chloe Wong (she/her) is Product Marketing Manager at University of California Press. She started her career in publishing at Berrett-Koehler Publishers after graduating from UC Berkeley. She lives in San Francisco, CA where she enjoys reading a little bit of everything and running the Marina Green. 

casual photo me 1.jpeg
DOROTHY HEARST — Membership Committee Chair, Diversity and Inclusion Committee


Dorothy Hearst (she/her) has over twenty years of experience in the publishing industry as an acquiring editor, marketing professional, book doctor, co-writer, and proposal writer. Clients include Vice President Kamala Harris, UN Undersecretary General for Communications Melissa Fleming, Creative Artist Agency, Flatiron books, and Roaring Brook Press. She specializes in finding, crafting, and sharing ideas and stories that can change the way people live, work, and see the world. She was Senior Editor at Jossey-Bass/John Wiley & Sons, and acquiring-editor-at-large for Sounds True. She is the author of The Wolf Chronicles trilogy (Simon & Schuster) and co-author with Pam Berkman of the At the Heels of History chapter book series (Margaret K. McElderry Books). She would like to pet your dog.

KELLY PETERSON — Treasurer, Professional Development and Education Co-Chair

Kelly Peterson is Director of Client Services at INscribe Digital, and brings 20 years of marketing and merchandising experience to her current role, helping major trade publishers, university presses, independent publishers, agents and authors maximize their eBook sales and marketing efforts at the major retailers. Prior to INscribe, Kelly worked at Borders Group, Inc. for 14 years, initially at Waldenbooks and later running the eBook program. Kelly currently chairs BAWiP's Education Committee. She is also a board member of Independent Book Publishers' Association, and serves on the Member Benefits Committee. She sees every nominated Oscar film annually (59 last year alone!) and is always ready with a book or movie recommendation.  She believes each of us have the ability to change the world.

JOHANNA VONDELING — Diversity and Inclusion Chair, Mentorship Task Force Co-Chair 

Johanna Vondeling is founder of Vondeling Ventures, a consultancy supporting nonfiction publishers and authors. She was President and Publisher at Berrett-Koehler Publishers through December, 2022. She previously served as BK's Vice President for International Sales and Business Development and as Vice President for Editorial and Digital, after joining the company in 2004. Before that, she worked for Jossey-Bass (a Wiley imprint), W.W. Norton, and Holt, Rinehart, and Winston. In addition to serving on BAWiP's board, she is on the advisory board of the Publishing Professionals Network and is the proud recipient of PPN's 2020 Distinguished Service Award. 

Cheryl Cechvala.jpg
CHERYL CECHVALA — Diversity and Inclusion Committee, Mentorship Committee 

Cheryl Cechvala is a longtime acquisition, development and sponsoring editor who has worked for publishers large and small, primarily in nonfiction and educational publishing, since 1997. Her favorite part has always been working with authors to execute a vision, whether for an illustration-driven science title or an interactive ebook. When she's not reading manuscripts or strategizing with authors and colleagues, you'll find her hiking, baking, traveling, or watching her favorite history or cooking shows with her husband and two daughters. 

  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
bottom of page